Alexis Ohanian: How to make a splash in social media

In a world of inane Internet memes including Hamster Dance and Rickrolling, how can you possibly make sense of what ultimately rises to fame online? Alexis Ohanian, co-founder of Reddit, explains how web stardom works in this quick talk that highlights the rise of Mister Splashy Pants, a humpback whale who is Internet famous. If you’re interested in social media marketing and meme-making, this is essential viewing.

One thought on “Alexis Ohanian: How to make a splash in social media

  1. I immediately liked this post for two reasons, one I myself am a redditor so im glad to see this the site getting attention and second I live Ted Talks. I always find that Ted Talks provide you with a look on something that you might be unfamiliar with and the talk really informs you about in a short and enjoyable video presentation. As a redditor I watch things rise and fall on the home page, I have seen the birth of meme’s and I have been rickrolled enough times to sing the song almost perfectly. But I also have been informed about terrible events around the world, learned that even someone from a different country and holds a different belief still enjoys something I like. Overall I really just liked this post because I love reddit and I enjoy the things I learned from the site and the time I wasted on r/f7u12 (you will get the reference if you are a redditor)
    By Kevin Mclaughlin

Leave a comment