Apps, gadgets and social media pumping up fitness

Social media is becoming part of our everyday lives and can be used to assist with nearly every aspect of it as well. Fitness and health and wellness apps are become increasingly popular as American’s are finding the need and importance to engage in activity and eat better. These health apps are allowing people to track every step they take and every bite they eat until they reach their goals, but on top of this, the journey is becoming more public. Many of these fitness apps link to twitter or facebook to allow your friends to see your progress, which I have found that many of my clients use these to assist in keeping on track. These apps are making people more accountable for their actions, and is really helping people reach their goals. I think these apps are fantastic, and I even personally use them and encourage my clientel to do the same. If they chose, I can also watch their activity via these apps and encourage or give feedback to them in addition to our personal training sessions.

Read full article here.

 

Tiffany Calkins

3 thoughts on “Apps, gadgets and social media pumping up fitness

  1. love this topic, my girlfriend is honestly in love with all her apps. I swear she has one for everything, she has one that counts everything you eat and tells you how healthy your day was on a 1-10 scale, it takes into account any exercise you did and how long. Another one i thought was pretty cool did something completely different, it actually gave other people the chance to rate your meal. the point is to post a picture and description of the food you are eating, then other users rate you on a F to A+ scale to se “how healthy” your food was. Personally all these apps are not for me I do not like feeling like every time I move I must be checking to see if Im being healthy or not, just my opinion. I could deff see this being a helpful way for people to keep healthy because it is a visual aid that gives you praise when doing something good.
    -Mike Taylor

  2. I was excited to read this article as I myself would like to acquire apps that can alter or give me new ideas on training programs. The one concern that I have, is when people post every step they have taken or food they plan on consuming. I also do not really see the point in seeking the advice of all of your friends on whether or not eating a doughnut will be a good idea. Individuals have to use common sense, if you think it’s a bad idea to eat something than it’s probably a bad idea. I don’t feel that individuals should have to rely on the postings and replies of others. I feel that the apps could be helpful for those that are seeking help in starting a training regime or for those that would like to alter their current program.

    Iñaki O.

  3. I was excited to read this article as I myself would like to acquire apps that can alter or give me new ideas on training programs. The one concern that I have, is when people post every step they have taken or food they plan on consuming. I also do not really see the point in seeking the advice of all of your friends on whether or not eating a doughnut will be a good idea. Individuals have to use common sense, if you think it’s a bad idea to eat something than it’s probably a bad idea. I don’t feel that individuals should have to rely on the postings and replies of others. I feel that the apps could be helpful for those that are seeking help in starting a training regime or for those that would like to alter their current program.

    Iñaki O.

Leave a Reply

