The Flight From Conversation

It seems like every other month we hear about a new device coming out; from cell phones to I-pads to lap tops.  In this day in age there are a number of ways to communicate electronically, and a normal conversation is hard to come by.  Texting, instant messaging and emailing are just a small number of ways in which people would rather have their conversations.  The article points out how we should value and instill face to face conversations for ourselves and our children. 

Click here to read Sherry Turkle’s article from the NY Times to find out more about what a normal conversation is.

Iñaki O.

6 thoughts on “The Flight From Conversation

  1. I agree with you! What an interesting article, I felt extremely guilty while reading it though. I’m glued to my phone and my laptop and without that connection I feel lost….its sad! Sherry Turkle makes some very powerful statements in this article. For example:

    “I’ve learned that the little devices most of us carry around are so powerful that they change not only what we do, but also who we are.”

    “As we ramp up the volume and velocity of online connections, we start to expect faster answers. To get these, we ask one another simpler questions; we dumb down our communications, even on the most important matters. It is as though we have all put ourselves on cable news.”

    I completely agree with both statements!

    Christina

  2. This article is incredibly interesting and very true. I am absolutely guilty of a lot of the things this article is talking about. I always have my iPhone or iPad on me. If I don’t have my phone, i feel lost. Not only am I not connected to everyone, but my whole life is missing. All of my calendars, appointments, assignments, and, I’m ashamed to say, but passwords and login information for nearly all of my online accounts (I’m awful with remembering passwords)… I almost can’t function without it! It’s incredibly sad, but true. Plus, it’s incredible to see that the younger population cannot put together sentences without auto correct, and think “lol” and other short hands are acceptable in professional documents and face to face conversations! It’s just crazy to see how technology has come to run most of our lives.
    My pet peeve is someone texting while talking to me.

    Tiffany Calkins

  3. I agree with Christina saying she feels extremely guilty while reading that article. It truly is so sad how far we’ve come through technology and how we’re choosing to use it. I wish I could go back to the days where I didn’t have cable, and my mom was the only person I knew with a cell phone. The only reason she even had one was after her car broke down and we had no way to call anyone for help, so she realized a cell would be a good idea. I miss the days where I would actually TALK to somebody on the phone. I feel like I’ve lost all my communication skills, texting is so much easier for me. I honestly think it slows down your brain because it isn’t used to responding quickly as you would normally in a face-to-face conversation. Instead, with texting, you’re able to think for an hour of the best answer back you could think of. The days in the future when I decide to have children, I want them to have the childhood I had, playing outside, or inside, with toys. Not video games, crappy reality TV etc. I honestly think it’s going to be impossible and by then, unheard of. Like I said, it really is sad where we stand with technology.

  4. Hey who wrote the last response, that starts “I agree with Christina…” I need your name so I can give you credit for your response!

    Anyway, I agree with Christina too! Being the professor of this course I am continually fighting the urge to have some sort of real life dinner party with all of you, where we can discuss this stuff face to face!

    Great post Iñaki,
    J

  5. I love how this article states ““alone together.” It is true that in this day in age someone is never exactly “alone”. I know that in the social life of college, or even high school, it is evident that people who are “alone” use their cellphones to portray that they are not alone. I’ve been told before that “the one way to know which students are freshman, are the ones that are glued to their phone as they walk from class to class”. Freshman feel alone, nervous, and therefore use their phones to “not look lame”. Although we are all guilty of feeling “connected” and constantly updating and checking, I believe its the nature of how we’re being socialized now. I look forward to seeing what kind of people we will become as this trend is sure not to come to a halt any time soon.

    -Lindsay LaChance

Leave a Reply

