Survey: Most Facebook users have taken extended break

More than half of Facebook users say they’ve taken “vacations” from the social network for several weeks or longer, says a survey from Pew Research Center.

The survey found Facebook as the top social network in the U.S., with two-thirds of Americans claiming to be users. Of that group, 61% say they voluntarily stepped away from Facebook for a period of time.

This was a short article but I felt a very interesting and relateable article to our class. I myself have taken a break from a facebook a little while ago and even though I have come back im not as hooked as I use to be. The article states that the number one reason is that people say that are too busy. The article doesn’t listed what or say what specifically they were busy with (work, family, hobbies or whatever) so I wish that was looked into more for a better reasoning/analysis.  I hope that there will be a follow up survey or a more in-depth survey to yield greater results. I think this information would prove very valuable when we try to target audiences with our social media.

The link  to the article is here

The link to the survey is here

Kevin

2 thoughts on “Survey: Most Facebook users have taken extended break

  1. I thought this was pretty interesting. I keep tryin to tell myself to delete my facebook because the more I hear that jobs see your facebook, the more it freaks me out. I just can’t seem to get myself to delete mine. I have family down south and friends across the ocean that I met studying abroad. Not being able to keep in contact with them would be terrible. And nowadays using social media is cheaper quicker and easier than mailing a letter or talking over the phone. But I feel like I may try it once just to see how long I can last without it! Maybe during finals week!

    Posted by: Lindsay Hopkins

Leave a Reply

